GLR Injury Law

What Is Auto Insurance PIP?

crash, car, car crash-1308575.jpg

Presently, ten states have personal injury protection auto insurance. Personal injury protection provides insurance to pay for medical bills regardless of who is at fault for the accident. In Florida personal injury protection provides ten thousand ($10,000) in immediate medical treatment without having to establish fault legally through court proceedings. Every owner of a motor vehicle registered in Florida is required to have person injury protection coverage. PIP covers medical costs, lost wages and death benefits.

In Florida, PIP pays eighty percent (80%) of your medical costs until the ten thousand dollars ($10,000) is exhausted. However, there must be a determination within fourteen (14) days of the accident that the person seeking the benefits was treated for an emergency medical condition to qualify for the full PIP amount. If the person seeking benefits treats within fourteen (14) days of the accident but is not treated for an emergency medical condition, they only qualify for two thousand five hundred ($2,500) of medical treatment. If the person does not seek treatment within fourteen (14) days of the accident, they do not qualify for the payment of any medical treatment under PIp.

If you are in an auto accident and cannot return to work for a period of time, Florida PIP will pay sixty percent (60%) of the gross wages you lost during that period of time subject to the ten thousand dollar ($10,000) limit. The injured person is also entitled to sixty percent (60%) of the loss of earning capacity as a result of the injury subject to the ten thousand dollar ($10,000) limit. Additionally, you are entitled to the expenses you reasonably incurred in obtaining from others ordinary and necessary services that, but for the injury, would have been performed by the injured person without income for the benefit of his or her household. These benefits must be paid at least every two (2) weeks.

If the policyholder were to be killed in an auto accident, PIP would pay funeral and
burial expenses of up to five thousand ($5,000) dollars in addition to the benefits
described above.

If you would like to schedule your FREE case evaluation give us a call at 407-863-3333 or 407-733-2615

Share This Post

What if I can’t afford a lawyer?

Our fee would come in the form of a percentage of the settlement or verdict amount we obtain, you dont pay anything up-front. If you

What is your case worth?

Many times insurance companies will attempt to settle personal injury claims with you before a lawyer gets involved.  This is an attempt by the insurance

Send A Chat Request!

Skip to content